Catalogue Homepage Publications by Title

previous page next page Order Form

A Lad from Brantford & Other Essays
David Adams Richards

“As in his novels, the essays are brutal in their honest depiction of people and life mixed in with Richards’ usual wit and insight”
Ottawa X-PRESS

“Hockey, hunting, smoking, children, General Robert E. Lee, our troublesome weather, bed and breakfasts, and stag films ... Quebec, the nature of power, and the writings of Alden Nowlan. The essays are funny and serious ... in Richards’ honest, clear, language.”
The New Brunswick READER

Praise for David Adams Richards:
“Richards is a major writer, a voice to be reckoned with”
The Globe and Mail

“His voice is one of the most powerful and necessary”
Ottawa Citizen

“Wit and acuity mark out this Canadian writer of unaffected unsentimental integrity”
The Observer (UK)

David Adams Richards is the author of The Coming of Winter, Blood Ties, Lives of Short Duration, Nights Below Station Street, For Those Who Hunt the Down, Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace, The Bay of love and Sorrows, Lines on the Water and Mercy Among the Children. A Lad from Brantford & Other Essays was his first book of nonfiction, a collection of personal essays on how we Canadians see ourselves and our culture. The book’s title comes from one of the essays wherein Richards responds to comments made by “a lad from Brantford”, Ontario.

David Adams Richards was born in Newcastle, New Brunswick, in 1950. His novels have earned him numerous awards including being one of only three writers to receive Governor General’s Literay Awards for both Fiction and Nonfiction. He has also received the Griffin Prize, the Alden Nowlan Award for Excellence, the Canadian Authors Association Fiction Award, the Atlantic Provinces Booksellers Award, the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award and the Canada-Australia Prize. With his wife Peggy and their son John Thomas, he currently lives in Toronto.

cover art by William Forrestall, Fredericton NB

September 1994 / 8.5” x 5.5” / 106 pp / essays
Broken Jaw Press
ISBN 0-921411-25-1 (tp) / $17.95